How Forge compares
Other tools are good at what they do. Here is where Forge is different, with sources for every claim.
Mitsumi Forge
Best for: Anyone who wants a finished, running app, built on their own computer.
Emergent
Best for: People with no coding background who want a hosted service that turns a description into a live app.
OpenAI Codex
Best for: ChatGPT users and developers who want a coding agent across app, terminal, IDE and cloud.
Claude Code
Best for: Developers and teams who want an agentic coding tool across terminal, IDE, desktop and web.
T3 Code
Best for: Developers who already use agent command-line tools and want one open-source interface over them.
OpenCode
Best for: Developers who want an open-source coding agent that works with any model provider, including local models.
| Feature | Mitsumi Forge | Emergent | OpenAI Codex | Claude Code | T3 Code | OpenCode |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Made for non-developers (no terminal needed) | Yes | Yes Aimed at non-programmers | Partly Desktop app; positioned as a coding agent | Partly Desktop app works without a terminal; positioned as a coding tool | Partly Most agents need their command-line tool set up first | Not stated |
| Desktop app with a visual interface | Yes | Not stated Web platform; no desktop app mentioned | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes Desktop app listed as beta on its repository |
| Runs on your own computer (code stays local) | Yes Keys in the OS secure store | No Preview and publishing run on Emergent's hosting | Yes Model calls go to the provider | Yes Model calls go to the provider | Yes | Yes |
| Builds full-stack apps from a description (frontend, backend, database) | Yes | Yes Hosting, databases and APIs set up | Partly Builds and fixes code; no database or hosting set-up described | Partly Builds from plain language; no database or hosting set-up described | Not stated An interface for other coding agents | Not stated |
| Live preview while it builds | Yes Desktop, tablet and phone sizes | Yes | Not stated | Yes Browser pane in the desktop app | Not stated | Not stated |
| Isolated sandbox per project | Yes Docker sandboxes | Partly Isolation described per deploy run | Partly Isolated VM per cloud task; local sandbox | Partly Not on native Windows; cloud sessions use VMs | Not stated | Not stated |
| Database included per project | Yes | Yes | Not stated No project database described | Not stated No project database described | Not stated No project database described | Not stated No project database described |
| Plan approval before changes | Yes Optional | Yes | Partly Approval policies documented | Yes Plan mode | Partly Asks before edits in Supervised mode | Yes Plan agent |
| Parallel agents for large builds | Yes | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Yes |
| Specialist testing and review agents | Yes Testing, design and backend security review | Partly Testing step documented; review agent not stated | Partly /review and GitHub review; no built-in reviewer agent | Partly /code-review and custom agents | Not stated | No Built-in agents don't include testing or review |
| Self-healing of the running app | Yes Automatic fixes, plus an AI healer for code errors | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Checkpoints and one-click rollback | Yes After every step; branch off too | Yes Database records aren't restored | Partly Revert per change; docs suggest manual Git checkpoints | Partly Doesn't track shell-command edits | Not stated | Partly /undo needs a Git repository |
| One-click deploy (frontend and backend) | Yes Vercel, with automatic diagnosis of failed deploys | Yes Publish button on its own hosting | Not stated No deploy feature described | Not stated No deploy feature described | Not stated One-click pull request; no deploy described | Not stated No deploy feature described |
| Publish to GitHub without Git installed | Yes | Partly Save to GitHub on paid plans; Git not mentioned | Not stated | Partly Cloud sessions use a GitHub App; desktop features need gh | No Docs say Git must be installed | Not stated |
| Import private GitHub repositories | Yes | Partly Can pull a repository; private not stated | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | Not stated |
| Choice of AI provider, including local models | Yes Claude, OpenAI, Gemini, Ollama | Not stated | Yes Ollama and LM Studio | Partly Cloud providers and gateways; local models not stated | Partly Choice among agents; local only if the agent supports it | Yes 75+ providers, plus local |
| Use an existing Claude subscription | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Yes Through your own Claude Code sign-in | Partly Docs list it but note Anthropic's restrictions |
| Budget limits and cost tracking | Yes Per-project limits and live cost meter | Yes | Partly Credits shown; budget cap not stated | Yes | Not stated | Partly Spend cap on Zen models |
| Price | Free You pay your AI provider | Credit-based plans Free tier available | Included in ChatGPT plans Extra use through credits or API rates | Claude subscription Or pay-per-token API | Free Bring your own provider | Free software Model costs paid separately |
| Open source | Not stated To be confirmed | Not stated | Partly The command-line tool is; the rest isn't stated | No Anthropic terms apply | Yes MIT | Yes MIT |
Comparison based on public information as of 17 October 2026. Products change; check each vendor's site.
Which one fits you?
For each tool: when it is the better pick, and when Forge is.
Emergent
Official sitePick Emergent if
You want a hosted service where preview, database and publishing live in one place, with plan approval, checkpoints and credit budgets.
Pick Forge if
- Your code and keys stay on your computer. Emergent's preview and publishing run on its own hosting.
- You choose your AI provider, including local models. We couldn't find a provider choice stated on Emergent's site.
- Forge is free to download and you pay your AI provider directly; Emergent uses credit-based plans.
OpenAI Codex
Official sitePick OpenAI Codex if
You want a coding agent with a documented local sandbox, local-model support, parallel subagents and built-in code review.
Pick Forge if
- A complete app studio in one window: live preview, a sandbox and database per project, and deploys, not only a coding agent.
- Built for people who don't code. Codex describes itself as a coding agent.
- Self-healing of the running app, which Codex's docs don't mention.
Claude Code
Official sitePick Claude Code if
You want a general coding agent in the terminal, IDE or desktop app, with /rewind checkpoints, plan mode, parallel subagents and your Claude subscription.
Pick Forge if
- Forge includes a database per project and one-click deploys of frontend and backend. Claude Code's docs describe neither.
- Ready-made specialist agents for testing, design review and backend security review. Claude Code offers /code-review and lets you write your own agents.
- Works with Claude, OpenAI, Gemini and local models through Ollama, as well as a Claude subscription.
T3 Code
Official sitePick T3 Code if
You already use agent command-line tools and want one open-source (MIT) interface over them, with a branch per thread and one-button pull requests.
Pick Forge if
- A full builder with its own agent team, sandboxes and self-healing, rather than an interface on top of other agents.
- Publishes to GitHub even without Git installed. T3 Code's docs say Git must be installed.
- Nothing else to install first. T3 Code needs the agent tools you want to use to be set up and signed in.
OpenCode
Official sitePick OpenCode if
You are a developer who wants an open-source (MIT) agent with 75+ providers, including local models, and you're happy in the terminal.
Pick Forge if
- A complete app studio with live preview, sandboxes, a database and deploys, not only a coding agent. No terminal needed.
- Checkpoints after every step that don't depend on a Git repository. OpenCode's /undo needs one.
- Specialist testing, design and security review agents are built in.
Describe your first app today.
Free to download. Runs on your own computer.